DUI Law in Alabama
The terms Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence (DUI) may be used interchangeably in the state of Alabama.
In Alabama, it is illegal to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or more. The state places a .04% limit on commercial drivers. Drivers under 21 and those who operate a school bus or day care van have limits of .02%.
According to Alabama law, you must consent to breath, urine, or blood tests to determine your alcohol and drug levels. If you refuse, your license will be suspended.
Drinking and driving is dangerous and costly for everyone involved. For the driver, convictions for a first DWI/DUI carry penalties of a fine ($600-$2,100), and/or one year in jail, and mandatory DUI school attendance. A first conviction also causes you to lose your license for 90 days.
A second conviction bears greater fines ($1,100-$5,100) and/or one year in jail, plus a mandatory 48 hours in jail or 20 days of community service. This conviction will cause you to have your license revoked for one full year.
With each subsequent DWI/DUI conviction, the penalties are increased further.